Sedex factory

Sedex is committed to promoting ethical performance in global supply chains. Sedex’s four key areas are:

  1. Labor Standards
  • Prohibition of child labor
  • Young labor
  • Anti-forced labor
  • Anti-discrimination
  1. Health and Safety
  • Improved workplace facilities
  • Prevention and handling of occupational injuries
  • Ensuring the safe use of on-site equipment
  • Risk assessment of the work environment
  • Proper storage and use of chemicals and hazardous substances
  • Good accommodation and dining environment
  1. Environment
  • Compliance with relevant legal requirements
  • Environmental management system
  • Proper control of waste and gas removal
  1. Business Ethics
  • Honest business operations
  • Anti-corruption, anti-bribery, and anti-illegal income



The mission of FSC is to promote responsible forest management practices that are socially beneficial, environmentally responsible, and economically viable. To achieve these goals, it advocates for voluntary, independent, third-party certification as the primary means of implementation. Certification in each country is based on 10 universal principles and criteria for forest evaluation, which primarily include social, environmental, and economic factors. Forestry managers and assessors use these factors for certification. The FSC forest certification process requires that the 10 principles and standards be adapted to suit the standards of each country. To ensure that the criteria and standards are reflective of local conditions, they should be discussed by a broad representation of industries.

Purchasing wooden products with the FSC certification logo can help to avoid buying products that come from endangered tree species or illegal logging. It assures consumers that the products come from forests that meet contemporary and future societal, economic, and ecological needs, and it also supports Greenpeace. FSC certification has been awarded to over 100 million hectares of forest in approximately 79 countries worldwide.